## **Acknowledgments**

he *Index of Economic Freedom* is a product of extensive collaboration with people and organizations around the world. While it is impossible to mention all of those who have contributed to the various aspects of *Index* production, we wish to express our gratitude in particular to the myriad individuals serving with various international organizations, research institutions, U.S. government agencies, foreign embassies, and other organizations who provide the data used in the *Index*. Assistance from them is vital and greatly appreciated.

The Heritage Foundation's Center for Trade and Economics (CTE) leads the *Index* production effort. The CTE team of James Roberts and Bryan Riley shared with us the responsibility for grading the 10 components of economic freedom. CTE Research Assistant Tori Whiting and interns Danielle Jack, Elizabeth Arnold, Henry Dickman, Lori Ebenstein, Nick Hoffman, and Theodore Ellis contributed substantial research and other production assistance.

Various Heritage Foundation foreign policy experts who provided country backgrounds informed by their regional and country expertise include Lisa Curtis, Bruce Klingner, William Wilson, and Director Walter Lohman of the Asian Studies Center; Luke Coffey and Daniel Kochis of the Margaret Thatcher Center for Freedom; and Joshua Meservey, James Phillips, and Ana Quintana of the Douglas and Sarah Allison Center for Foreign and National Security Policy. As in previous years, Mary Anastasia O'Grady of *The Wall Street Journal* was invaluable in her timely review of all of the country backgrounds. We greatly appreciate her expertise and thorough attention to detail.

The *Index of Economic Freedom* is a substantial volume that is brought to print each year by an incredibly talented team of editors and production specialists. We wish to express our deepest appreciation to Director of Research Editing Richard Odermatt, who is responsible for final review of the completed text, and Senior Copy Editor William T. Poole, who bears the primary responsibility for perfecting the language we employ, as well as Deputy Director of Research Editing Therese Pennefather and Senior Data Graphics Editor John Fleming. Creative Director Melissa Bluey and Publication Designer Jay Simon were responsible for the design and layout of the book.

The availability of the entire *Index* and its database online at www.heritage.org/index has greatly expanded the publication's reach and accessibility over the past years. The transposition to the Web each year would not be possible without the expertise of Director of Marketing Technology Tim McGovern and his team, including Roger Spurzem, Maria Sousa, Isabel Isidro, and former Heritage staffer Jim Lawruk.

Senator Jim DeMint, President of The Heritage Foundation, and Bret Bernhardt, Executive Vice President of The Heritage Foundation, have been enthusiastic supporters and great sources of encouragement in producing this annual publication. David Addington, Group Vice President for Research, Jack Spencer, Vice President for the Institute for Economic Freedom and Opportunity, and Dr. James Jay Carafano, Vice President for the Kathryn and Shelby Cullom Davis Institute for National Security and Foreign Policy, provided support and advice in connection with many aspects of *Index* production and marketing.

The ongoing support from Group Vice Presidents Ed Corrigan, John Fogarty, and Wesley Denton and Vice Presidents Becky Norton Dunlop, Matt Streit, and Rob Bluey is also sincerely appreciated.

We also wish to acknowledge our enduring debt to Chairman Thomas A. Saunders III and the Heritage Board of Trustees, and particularly to Ambassador J. William Middendorf II, who originally encouraged us to undertake such a study of global economic freedom. We remain deeply indebted to Dr. Edwin J. Feulner, Founder and former President of The Heritage Foundation, and Heritage Distinguished Fellow Dr. Kim R. Holmes, who was a founding editor of the *Index*. Without their vision and insight, this project could never have become a reality and achieved such success over the past 22 years.

Ambassador Terry Miller Anthony B. Kim December 2015